image of the Gather & Mourn vinyl record. record is pink and black swirl on the right. cover is on the left of two faces in a yin yang with colorful splatter
image of the front and back of the Gather & Mourn vinyl record. record is pink and black swirl
close up image of the Gather & Mourn vinyl record. record is pink and black swirl
close up image of the Gather & Mourn vinyl record. record is pink and black swirl

Gather & Mourn Black/Pink Aside/Bside

Regular price$20.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Limit of 2 per customer

Track Listing
01. End - Eden Will Drown
02. End - The Host Will Soon Decay
03. Cult Leader - Ataraxis
04. Cult Leader - Long Shadows

First Press:
300 x Gold / Black Mix (Closed Casket Activities Exclusive)
300 x Clear w/ Gold & Black Splatter (Evil Greed Exclusive)
300 x Silver / Black Mix (Deathwish Exclusive)
300 x Clear w/ Black & Silver Splatter (Deathwish Europe Exclusive)
300 x Orange / Black Mix (Graywhale Exclusive)
300 x Blue / Black Mix (Newbury Comics Exclusive)
500 x Pink / Black Mix (Good Fight Exclusive)
500 x Clear w/ Red & Black Splatter (European Indie Exclusive)
800 x Purple in White w/ Splatter (Closed Casket Activities / Deathwish Exclusive)
1000 x Black / Red Mix (Indie Exclusive)
1000 x Electric Blue w/ Splatter
1000 x Red / Cloudy Clear

What happens when two of underground music’s most undeniable and unpredictable forces of nature collide? Well, the union of END & Cult Leader resulted in the 2022 split EP, Gather & Mourn [Closed Casket Activities & Deathwish Inc.].  

This four track-collection finds each of these each of luminaries firing at full blast with the kind of heavy music that simultaneously repulses as it enraptures, fusing grind, hardcore, and death metal with an ominous intensity befitting of a world on fire.

The project itself represents the strength of the underground community, marking an important joint release between arbiters of integrity Closed Casket Activities and Deathwish Inc. Converge guitarist and producer Kurt Ballou [Code Orange, High On Fire, KVELERTAK] notably mixed Cult Leader’s two tracks, while END guitarist Will Putney recorded, mixed, and mastered END in addition to mastering Cult Leader. Deathwish Inc. founder and Converge frontman Jacob Bannon also personally created the artwork and layout.

Both heads of this vicious sonic hydra have built an unshakable foundation, leaving fans and press in awe. Among widespread acclaim from Brooklyn Vegan, Invisible Oranges, and more, END’s 2020 full-length, Splinters from an Ever-Changing Face, earned a rare “5-out-of-5” star review from KERRANG! followed by “4-out-of-5” from Metal Hammer.  

However, END roar back with their first release since 2020 now.  With an unimpeachable pedigree, the group consists of Will Putney (Graphic Nature Audio, Fit For An Autopsy) [guitar], Brendan Murphy (Counterparts) [vocals], Gregory Thomas (Ex-Misery Signales) [guitar], Jay Pepito (Reign Supreme, Ex-Blacklisted) [bass], and Billy Rymer [Drums] (ex-Dillinger Escape Plan). Drawing on the chemistry between these seasoned musicians, their first single from the split, “Eden Will Drown,” steamrolls forward at full speed fueled by bludgeoning rhythms, smart bomb-precise guitars, and a foreboding roar.

Meanwhile, Cult Leader continues to fixate listeners with a different breed of darkness. Gather & Mourn picks up where they left on 2018’s A Patient Man.  The latter landed highly coveted year-end spots on Consequence’s top 25 Metal and Hard Rock Albums (#19), Revolver’s Best Albums (#11) and more; it also generated millions of streams, highlighted by “to:Achlys” and “I am Healed.”  Cult Leader unleash their first new music in four years now with the single “Ataraxis.” Clocking in at just under two minutes, it hinges on guttural growls, pummeling percussion, and chaotic guitars, speaking to the band’s mastery of cataclysmic intensity.

Gather & Mourn heralds a next era of heavy music, translating the pulse of the underground into an unshakable sonic storm.